Far-seeing?

Welcome to teleskopos, my new blogging home. I thought it was about time I found a place of my own, although I will be continuing to cross-post at Whewell’s Ghost. It is something of a work-in-progress, as I find my way around WordPress, so I hope that you’ll bear with me as I make elementary errors.

I will be blogging probably about as frequently as I was before, and much on the same themes: my research in history of science, history of science in museums and the relationship between the academic field and more popular formats. Perhaps, with my own blog to run around in, I will start adding other topics and views, reviews and thoughts, short and long. We will see…

A word on the name of the blog. It is, of course, all fancy-shmancy Greek for telescope. Since I work within an historic observatory, researching its heritage and curating some of its telescopes, it seems fair enough, although I will not be sticking to history of instruments or astronomy. There will also, probably, be very little Greek science, but I liked teleskopos because it clearly shows the etymology: ‘far-seeing’. If an astronomical telescope looks back through time as it peers into space, I hope my own little ‘perspective glass’ will facilitate some sort of view on the past.

8 thoughts on “Far-seeing?

  1. […] I have just set up teleskopos, my new blogging home. I thought it was about time I found a place of my own, although I will be continuing to cross-post at Whewell’s Ghost. It is something of a work-in-progress, as I find my way around WordPress, so I hope that you’ll bear with me as I make elementary errors (including having all my exported WG posts pingback comments here, and probably elsewhere: sorry!). [Read more] […]

Leave a Reply

